IPCR Inaugurates Committees for Annual National Peace Award, Peace Day.

The Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution (IPCR) has inaugurated a 13-man committee under the chairmanship of the Institute’s Director of Democracy and Development Studies, Barrister Gabriel Jiya to work out modalities and recommend criteria for nominating individuals and groups that have distinguished themselves for Annual National Peace Award.

Represented by the Director of Administration, Mr. Sam Abi, the Director General, Bakut tswah Bakut of IPCR, while inaugurating the committee at the Institute said that in every sense of the word, the event of the National Peace Award was statutorily the prerogative of the Institute, which is charged with the mandate of peace promotion and conflict management in the country.

He expressed the hope that the award would encourage those who have devoted their time and other resources for peaceful coexistence adding that others would be induced to engage in various activities of peacebuilding for the overall achievement of the mandate of IPCR.

The terms of reference for the committee according to Bakut included the suggestion/description of categories of the award; recommendation of criteria for nominating individuals/groups that have distinguished themselves for the various categories of the award, and to identify persons/groups qualified for the various categories of the award in respect of the 2019 edition. The committee is also expected to suggest appropriate time in each year for the award and make any other useful suggestions appropriate to the subject matter.

The Chairman of the Committee, Jiya, in his acceptance speech thanked the director general for the confidence response in the committee and pledged that the members would work assiduously for the successful accomplishment of the task which he termed noble.

The committee consist of the Acting Head of the Defense and Security Studies, Mr Emmanuel Mamman; Acting Head of the Public Affairs Unit, Mrs. Abaya Umogbai; Head of External Revenue and Chairman of NASU, IPCR, Comrade Charles Ofikwu; Dr. Babatunde Olalekan, Dozie Acholonu, Nneka Ikelionu, Ishaq Daksiri, Aisha Arigu, Hafsat Hamidu, Aisha Kaka, Abednego Okafor, and the Media Assistant to the Director General, Mr. Abu I. Michael as Secretary.

In a related development, the Director General has also constituted the committee for the 2019 International day of Peace Committee under the Desk Officer of UN-Women, Madam Grace Awodu with Ishaq Daksiri as the Secretary. Other members are Andy Nkenemene, Dr. Babatunde Olalekan, Gerald Okafor, Dr. Ayuba Caleb, Zanaiba Anyandike, Idris Abubakar, Bukola Adejugbe, Abaya Umogbai, Ambrose Okusun, and Abu I. Michael. The committee is expected work liaise with relevant stakeholders for Nigerians to successfully observe the day.

© 2017 Institute for Peace and Confict Resolution. All rights reserved